Home

WIR DENKEN UM

Rethinking – the world turns in one direction. And with our WIR-DENKEN-UM campaign, we have initiated a movement that also moves in only one direction: towards sustainability. We have already taken many steps, but in this case the route is the goal!

Onward to the goal together – In order to bring Sport Conrad forward step by step in terms of sustainability, we have founded the WIR-DENKEN-UM team, which collects all ideas from our employees and checks their feasibility. We also want to motivate other companies to pursue the topic of sustainability, for which our WIR-DENKEN-UM label has been available since summer 2019. With this label, we want to guide our customers transparently through the jungle of offers and provide a platform for suppliers who are already ticking away.

Criteria for our WIR-DENKEN-UM-Label:

Our endeavor must be to preserve what we love. Our passions – freeriding, ski touring and nature experiences – are inextricably linked to the preservation of our mountains and our nature. We want to carry this idea to the outside world and inspire others. 

> At least 50% EU-production and short ways of transportation

> At least a 50% share of recycled materials

> Renewable raw materials, no mulesing with wool

> Partner of Blue Sign and/or FairWear

> Repair service/ resoling

> PFC-free in at least 50% of the ordered products

> Traceability and transparency, such as TrackMyDown, Wool promise, Re:Down

Highlights

Top Brands

Slide 1 of 63
  • Maloja
  • Ortovox
  • Picture
  • Patagonia
  • Vaude
  • Völkl

More about WDU

Slide 1 of 4

EOCA

 EOCA - European Outdoor Conservation Assotiation


EOCA is a group of businesses in the European outdoor industry who have come together to raise funds to put directly into conservation projects worldwide (except USA and Canada) - to give back to the great outdoors. In 13 years of existence, they have supported 121 projects to the tune of over € 3 million.  

We - Sport Conrad - are a member of this association and thus support nature conservation projects all over the world.

To celebrate EOCA being ten years old, the Association launched an ambitious plan to plant / regenerate 2 million trees.  Until today 2.516.276 new trees have been planted.

The latest project of the organization is called Plastic Free: Mountain to Sea.

Plastic pollution is found in mountains, around crags, along and in rivers and lakes, forests and coastlines impacting disastrously on wildlife and blighting every type of habitat and landscape enjoyed by outdoor enthusiasts.  A lot of the plastic waste will find its way to lakes and rivers and ultimately end up in the oceans where it wil degrade, releasing toxic chemicals as it does so.  100,000 marine mammals and 1 million seabirds are killed every year through entanglement or by ingesting plastic litter.


The headline target for this Focus is that EOCA and its members will collectively clear 3000 km of habitat, trail and beach of plastic waste and pollution over the next 2 years. That is the distance from the Mediterranean coast to Lapland!

More about our WDU Partners

LEKI - WE TAKE RESPONSIBILITY

Leki produces in Europe and recycles in Europe. They pay special attention to a sustainable recycling process. With the company SIC Processing, Leki was able to win a professional partner who has the necessary know-how and experience to disassemble used canes into their components according to type in order to return them to the recycling cycles.


RECYCLING PROCESS

The sticks are first crushed. A screening machine then filters out the steel and aluminium components. What remains are residues of carbon, plastic and cork. The metal residues are separated into aluminium and steel components by eddy current and magnetic separation. The sorting residue from the shredded carbon and the shredded plastics is separated by a multi-stage floating / sinking separation process.

FROM OLD TO NEW

ALUMINIUM ➡️ Tube

STEEL ➡️  Attachments, springs, screws

CARBON ➡️ Pipe

PLASTIC ➡️ Handles, loops, foam


At the end of this special process, an end-of-life product is transformed back into pure metals, which are used in the production of aluminium or steel by melting them down. The plastic components are used as substitute fuels, e.g. in cement works. Valuable alloying elements are produced from the carbon components, which are added to the melt during steel production.

Pebax® Rnew®

THE GREEN SECRET OF SCARPA SKI SHOES

SCARPA has been purchasing the plastic Pebax® for its ski boots from the French company Arkema for a good 25 years. From 2007 on, the new "green" Pebax® Rnew® will also be used in some SCARPA products. Whereby "green" does not mean the color, but a sustainable plastic. A "sustainable plastic"? Is that even possible? Initially, Pebax® Rnew® was used in the T2 ECO and T2 ECO Wmn telemark shoes. Soon other SCARPA ski touring models followed.


From the plant to the ski boot

But what exactly is Pebax® Rnew®? If you go back to the place where it "grows", you end up in India, for example, or more precisely in Gujarat. This is because the castor plant, or castor oil plant, grows in the middle of a very warm and dry climate. In Gujarat, the castor oil is extracted from the seeds, which is later processed in France into Pebax® Rnew® in granulate form and finally used in the manufacture of SCARPA ski touring and telemark boots.


Pebax® Rnew® - the "green" plastic with special properties

Today, the sustainable plastic is used in the two ski touring boot models Maestrale and Gea as well as in the telemark models T2Eco, T2Eco Wmn and the T1.




This biomaterial has incredible properties: it retains its flexibility at very low temperatures, is extremely shock resistant in cold weather and has excellent energy return. Moreover, it is on average 20% lighter than other commonly used products (...)


"The Pragati InitiativeIn Gujarat, is the world's largest producer of castor oil plant. In 2016, Arkema and three other partners (BASF, Jayant Agro-Organics and Solidaridad) launched the Pragati Initiative to ensure sustainable castor plant cultivation. In Hindi, Pragati means "progress". Through training and education, the farmers learn to treat the environment and natural resources with respect. By adhering to criteria in the cultivation of the land, they can obtain certificates to promote, among other things, the improvement of working conditions, wage increases and the prohibition of child and forced labor. 2700 farmers were certified by April 2019, who cultivate a total of 4000 hectares with sustainable cultivation of the Castor plant. Profits have been increased by more than 50% so far.

Völkl Cares

Sustainable skis made in Germany

As a ski manufacturer, protecting the global ecosystem is more important than ever for Völkl. Winter sports are disproportionately impacted by the growing burden on the environment and natural world, and depend on protecting the “white gold” found in the mountains. Völkl, the last remaining ski manufacturer in Germany, sees protecting the environment as its responsibility, which is why sustainability and resource efficiency are so important to this company. From the sourcing of raw materials and production to the use of the products and disposal – the company efforts to be sustainable cover the entire life cycle of the products.


Starting in the first stage in a ski’s life cycle – the sourcing and processing of raw materials – Völkl put a premium on sustainability, relying on alliances with hand-chosen local partners. The raw materials they use come from 100 % European sources. For example, the wood used to make the skis comes exclusively from European FSC- and PEFC-certified renewable sources. The suppliers recycle 100 % of the wood that cannot be used in ski production, for example to generate electricity, or give it directly to local farmers in the form of sawdust.Völkl transport the individual raw materials used in production in returnable wooden packaging without film wrapping that is reusable and sustainable. The location of the Völkl factory in Straubing, Germany, allows for short transport routes, reducing emissions of pollutants.





The “Made in Germany” quality promise means Völkl skis must meet high standards. Living up to them requires years of development, including extensive testing and optimisation of prototypes. The use of recycled and residual materials, along with misprinted surface materials, reduces waste in this stage of production. To keep prototype production to a minimum – and reduce the use of resources – Völkl also often simulate the design of a new ski only using a computer. They assess the production processes annually to identify opportunities for optimisation, there by keeping waste to a minimum without compromising on quality.


The main Völkl factory in Straubing is one of the world’s most advanced ski production plants. The German location and “Made in Germany” quality promise allow to directly control working conditions, contribute to regional value chains and support the EU economy. In the interests of clean production, Völkl has significantly reduced the use of poisonous and hazardous substances, and they have completely eliminated them from many stages of production. For example, the hazardous substance dichloromethane (DCM) is no longer used in the production process. Up to 28 % of the skis are now made from recycled or sustainably produced materials.

20€ Gutschein ab 200€ Einkaufswert
Code: STARTHILFE20
Info- und Bestelltelefon: +49 8856 9367133
deen
Home

WIR DENKEN UM 


Umdenken – die Welt dreht sich in eine Richtung. Und wir haben mit unserer WIR-DENKEN-UM-Kampagne eine Bewegung angestoßen, die sich ebenfalls nur in eine Richtung bewegt: in Richtung Nachhaltigkeit. Wir sind schon viele Schritte gegangen, aber in diesem Fall trifft das Sprichwort „Der Weg ist das Ziel!“ genau ins Schwarze.

Weiter gemeinsam ans Ziel: Um Sport Conrad in puncto Nachhaltigkeit Schritt für Schritt weiter zu bringen, haben wir das WIR-DENKEN-UM-Team gegründet, das alle Ideen von unseren Mitarbeitern sammelt und auf ihre Umsetzbarkeit prüft. Wir wollen auch weitere Firmen motivieren das Thema Nachhaltigkeit zu verfolgen, dafür gibt es seit Sommer 2019 unser WIR-DENKEN-UM-Label. Mit diesem Label wollen wir unsere Kunden transparent durch den Angebotsdschungel lotsen und gleich tickenden Lieferanten eine Plattform geben.

Kriterien für unser WIR-DENKEN-UM-Label:

Unser Bestreben muss es sein, das zu bewahren, was wir lieben. Unsere Leidenschaften – Bergsteigen, Mountainbiken und Naturerlebnisse – sind unumstößlich mit dem Erhalt unserer Berge und unserer Natur verknüpft. Wir wollen diese Idee nach außen tragen und andere inspirieren.

> Mindestens 50 % EU-Produktion und kurze Transportwege

> Mindestens 50 % Anteil an Recyclingmaterialien

> Nachwachsende Rohstoffe, bei Wolle kein „Mulesing“

> Systempartner von bluesign oder FairWear

> Reparaturservice/Neubesohlung

> PFC-frei bei mindestens 50 % der bestellten Ware

> Nachverfolgbarkeit und Transparenz, wie TrackMyDown, Wool Promise, Re:Down

Highlights

Top Marken

Slide 1 of 65
  • Maloja
  • Vaude
  • Scarpa
  • Picture
  • Houdini
  • Leki

Mehr zu unseren WDU Themen

Slide 1 of 4

EOCA

 EOCA - European Outdoor Conservation Assotiation


EOCA ist eine Gruppe von Unternehmen in der europäischen Outdoor Industrie, die sich zusammengeschlossen haben, um Geldmittel einzuwerben, die direkt in weltweite Naturschutzprojekte einfließen. In den letzten 13 Jahren wurden 121 Projekte in Höhe von € 3 Mio. unterstützt. 

Wir - Sport Conrad - sind Mitglied in diesem Verband und unterstützen auf diese Weise Naturschutzprojekte auf der ganzen Welt.

Um das 10-jährige Jubiläum der EOCA zu feiern, hat die Organisation den ehrgeizigen Plan erstellt, 2 Millionen Bäume zu pflanzen/oder zu regenerieren. Bis heute konnten durch Spenden 2.516.276 neue Bäume gepflanzt werden.

Das neuste Projekt der Organisation nennt sich Plastic Free: Mountain to Sea.

Plastikverschmutzung wird im Gebirge, um Felsen, entlang der Flüsse und Seen, Wäldern und Stränden vorgefunden, mit einer verheerenden Auswirkung auf das Wildleben. Jede Art von Lebensräumen und Landschaften, die von Naturliebhabern geschätzt werden, werden zerstört. Im Endeffekt wird jede Menge Plastikabfall ihren Weg in die Seen und Flüsse finden und letztendlich in den Ozeanen landen. 100.000 Meeressäugetiere und 1 Millionen Seevögel werden jedes Jahr durch verheddern oder durch das Fressen von Plastikabfall getötet.


Das zentrale Ziel der EOCA und ihrer Mitglieder ist es, zusammen insgesamt 3000 km Lebensraum, Pfade und Strände über die nächsten zwei Jahre von Plastikverschmutzung und Vergiftung zu befreien. Das ist die Entfernung von der mediterranen Küste bis nach Lappland! Das ist ein ehrgeiziges Ziel, aber eines das die EOCA und Ihre Mitglieder gerne in Angriff nehmen.

Neues von unseren WDU Herstellern

Pebax® Rnew®

DAS GRÜNE GEHEIMNIS DER SCARPA SKISCHUHE

Seit gut 25 Jahren bezieht SCARPA den Kunststoff Pebax® für die Skischuhe von dem französischen Unternehmen Arkema, ab 2007 kommt in einigen SCARPA Produkten auch das neue «grüne» Pebax® Rnew® zum Einsatz. Wobei mit „grün“ nicht die Farbe gemeint ist, sondern ein nachhaltiger Kunststoff. Ein «nachhaltiger Kunststoff»? Geht das überhaupt? Zu Beginn wurde Pebax® Rnew® zunächst in den Telemarkschuhen T2 ECO und T2 ECO Wmn verarbeitet. Bald folgten auch andere Skitourenmodelle von SCARPA.


Von der Pflanze in den Skischuh

Aber was genau steckt hinter Pebax® Rnew®? Geht man zurück an den Ort, an dem es «wächst», landet man beispielsweise in Indien, genauer gesagt in Gujarat. Denn inmitten des sehr warmen und trockenen Klimas wächst die Castorpflanze, oder auch Rizinuspflanze. Aus dem Saatgut wird in Gujarat das Rizinusöl gewonnen, das später in Frankreich zu Pebax® Rnew® in Form von Granulat verarbeitet und letztendlich für die Herstellung von Skitouren- und Telemarkschuhen von SCARPA.  verwendet wird.


Pebax® Rnew® – der „grüne“ Kunststoff mit besonderen Eigenschaften

Heute findet sich der nachhaltige Kunststoff in den beiden Skitourenschuh Modellen Maestrale und Gea sowie in den Telemarkmodellen T2Eco, T2Eco Wmn und dem T1 wieder.





Dieses Biomaterial hat unglaubliche Eigenschaften: Es behält seine Flexibilität bei sehr niedrigen Temperaturen, ist bei Kälte äußerst stoßfest und weist eine hervorragende Energierückgabe auf. Darüber hinaus ist es im Durchschnitt 20% leichter als andere häufig verwendete Produkte (…).“


Die Pragati InitiativeIn Gujarat, befindet sich weltweit das größte Anbaugebiet der Rizinuspflanze. Um einen nachhaltigen Anbau der Castorpflanze zu gewähren, rief Arkema im Jahr 2016 mit drei weiteren Partnern (BASF, Jayant Agro-Organics und Solidaridad) die «Pragati Initiative» ins Leben. In Hindi bedeutet Pragati «Fortschritt». Die Farmer lernen durch Schulungen und Bildungsmaßnahmen einen respektvollen Umgang mit Umwelt und natürlichen Ressourcen. Durch die Einhaltung von Kriteriem beim Bewirtschaften des Landes können sie Zertifikate erlangen, um unter anderem die Verbesserung von Arbeitsbedinungen, Lohnerhöhungen sowie der Verbot von Kinde- und Zwangsarbeit voranzutreiben.Bis April 2019 wurden über 2700 Farmer zertifiziert, die insgesamt 4000 Hektar mit einem nachhaltigen Anbau der Castorpflanze bewirtschaften. Gewinne konnten bisher um mehr als 50% gesteigert werden.

Völkl Cares

Nachhaltig produzierte Ski aus Deutschland

Für Völkl als Skihersteller ist der Schutz des globalen Ökosystems wichtiger denn je. Der Wintersport ist in besonderem Maße von der zunehmenden Belastung von Umwelt und Natur betroffen und auf den Erhalt des „weißen Golds“ in den Bergen angewiesen. Auch Völkl, dem letzten in Deutschland verbliebenen Skihersteller, sieht sich in der Verantwortung und misst Nachhaltigkeit und Ressourcenschonung eine tragende Rolle bei. Beginnend bei der Rohstofferschließung über die Produktion bis hin zur Nutzung der Produkte und der Entsorgung – die Nachhaltigkeitsbemühungen ziehen sich durch den gesamten Lebenszyklus der Produkte.


Schon im ersten Schritt des Lebenszyklus eines Skis – bei der Rohstofferschließung und -aufbereitung – legt Völkl größten Wert auf Nachhaltigkeit und setzt auf Kooperationen mit handverlesenen, lokalen Partnern. 100 % der verwendeten Rohmaterialien stammen aus Europa. So bezieht das Unternehmen beispielsweise das für die Skiherstellung verwendete Holz ausschließlich aus europäischen FSC- und PEFC-zertifizierten, nachwachsenden Beständen. Schon bei den Lieferanten werden Holzreste, die nicht in der Skiproduktion Anwendung finden können, komplett wiederverwertet und beispielsweise für die Energiegewinnung genutzt oder in Form von Sägespänen an lokale Bauern abgegeben.





Das Qualitätsmerkmal „Made in Germany“ stellt hohe Ansprüche an einen Ski aus dem Hause Völkl. Diesem gerecht zu werden ist nur durch jahrelange Entwicklungsarbeit und das ausgiebige Testen und Optimieren von Prototypen möglich. Da in dieser Produktionsphase Restmaterialien und recycelte Materialien Anwendung finden und auf Oberflächen mit Fehldrucken zurückgegriffen wird, kann der Abfall verringert werden. Zudem simuliert Völkl das Design eines Skis oftmals nur noch am Rechner, um die Prototypenproduktion so weit wie möglich zu reduzieren und gleichzeitig so ressourcenschonend wie möglich zu agieren.


Das Völkl Stammwerk in Straubing (Bayern) zählt zu den modernsten Skifabrikationsanlagen der Welt. Der Standort in Deutschland und damit auch das Qualitätsmerkmal „Made in Germany“ bietet die Möglichkeit zur direkten Kontrolle der Arbeitsbedingungen und tragen zur regionalen Wertschöpfung sowie zur Förderung des EU-Wirtschaftsraums bei. Im Sinne der sauberen Produktion hat Völkl die Verwendung von Gift- und Schadstoffen drastisch reduziert und in vielen Schritten gänzlich eliminiert – so ist beispielsweise der Schadstoff DCM (Dichlormethan) nicht mehr im Produktionsprozess enthalten. Generell spielt die Verwendung recycelter Materialien, beispielsweise im Bereich der Stahlkanten oder auch der Beläge, eine wichtige Rolle. Bis zu 28 % eines Skis werden inzwischen aus recycelten oder nachhaltig produzierten Materialien hergestellt.